The Resource Small island, Andrea Levy

Small island, Andrea Levy

Label
Small island
Title
Small island
Statement of responsibility
Andrea Levy
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In 1948, four very different Britons are thrown together in a central-London terrace. Queenie Bligh, an unremarkable working-class woman, is awaiting the return from war service of her husband Bernard. In the meantime, she takes as a boarder a black Jamaican man who was briefly billeted to her house during the war. Then Gilbert's new bride, the prim and proud Hortense, turns up from Jamaica bearing misapprehension about English life and the place of a black woman in it. Then there's the long-awaited return of Queenie's husband, Bernard, who is racist, and somewhat war-damaged. Hortense discovers that her status is the same as that of any other black migrant. The revelation almost destroys her self-esteem, but it also sets her on a path to self-discovery. She ends by beginning to understand Gilbert's strength, Queenie's kindness and the sympathies she shares with them
Title
Small island
Creator
Summary
At the end of World War II the Joseph family arrives in London from Jamaica and Queenie, their white landlady, befriends them, until her racist husband, Bernard, arrives home from the front
Subject
Genre
Story line
Writing style
Award
  • Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book, 2005.
  • Commonwealth Writers' Prize, South Asia and Europe: Best Book, 2005.
  • Orange Prize for Fiction, 2004.
  • Whitbread Book Award for Novel, 2004.
  • Whitbread Book of the Year Award, 2004.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
125631
Cataloging source
UKM
Dewey number
823.914
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6112.E889
LC item number
S63 2004
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
780
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/shared_resources
  • {'label': 'Albion District Library', 'link': 'http://albionpublic.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Alpena County Library', 'link': 'http://alpena.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Ann Arbor District Library', 'link': 'http://aadl.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Baldwin Public Library', 'link': 'http://baldwin.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Belleville Area District Library', 'link': 'http://belleville.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Bemis Public Library', 'link': 'http://link.littletongov.org/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Bloomfield Twp Public Library', 'link': 'http://bloomfield.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Branch District Library System', 'link': 'http://branchdistrict.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Brandon Twp Public Library', 'link': 'http://brandon.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Calumet Public School Library', 'link': 'http://calumet.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Calvin College Library', 'link': 'http://calvincollege.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Central Michigan University Library', 'link': 'http://cmich.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Chattahoochee Valley Libraries', 'link': 'http://link.cvlga.org/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Chesterfield Township Library', 'link': 'http://chesterfield.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Chippewa River District Library', 'link': 'http://chippewa.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Clawson Blair Memorial Library', 'link': 'http://clawson.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Clayton County Library System', 'link': 'http://clayton.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Clinton-Macomb Public Library', 'link': 'http://macomb.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Dearborn Public Library', 'link': 'http://dearborn.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Dexter District Library', 'link': 'http://dexter.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Dougherty County Public Library', 'link': 'http://dougherty.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Douglas County Libraries', 'link': 'http://link.dcl.org/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Douglas County Libraries', 'link': 'http://localhost:8000/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Eastern Michigan University Library', 'link': 'http://emich.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Escanaba Public Library', 'link': 'http://escanaba.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Farmington Community Library', 'link': 'http://farmington.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Flint River Regional Library', 'link': 'http://flint-river.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Franklin Public Library', 'link': 'http://franklinpublic.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Grace A Dow Memorial Library', 'link': 'http://gracedow.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Grand Rapids Public Library', 'link': 'http://grandrapids.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Grand Valley State University Library', 'link': 'http://gvsu.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Greater Clarks Hill Regional Library', 'link': 'http://greater-clarks-hill.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Grosse Pointe Public Library', 'link': 'http://grossepointe.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Hackley Public Library', 'link': 'http://hackley.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Hall County Library System', 'link': 'http://hall.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Harbor Beach Area District Library', 'link': 'http://hbadl.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Hazel Park District Library', 'link': 'http://hazelpark.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Henry Ford College Library', 'link': 'http://henryford.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Herrick District Library', 'link': 'http://herrick.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Howell Carnegie District Library', 'link': 'http://howell.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Huntington Woods Public Library', 'link': 'http://huntingtonwoods.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Indian River Area Library', 'link': 'http://indianriver.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Jackson District Library', 'link': 'http://jacksondistrict.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Kalamazoo College', 'link': 'http://kalamazoocollege.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Kalamazoo Public Library', 'link': 'http://kalamazoo.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Lake Blackshear Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://lake-blackshear.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Lake Odessa Community Library', 'link': 'http://lakeodessa.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Lapeer District Library', 'link': 'http://lapeer.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Leighton Township Library', 'link': 'http://leighton.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Lenawee District Library', 'link': 'http://lendis.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Library of Congress', 'link': 'http://loc.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Lois Wagner Memorial Library', 'link': 'http://loiswagner.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Loutit District Library', 'link': 'http://loutit.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Lyon Township Public Library', 'link': 'http://lyon.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Marshes of Glynn Libraries', 'link': 'http://marshes-of-glynn.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Mercer County Library', 'link': 'http://link.mcl.org/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Michigan State University Library', 'link': 'http://msu.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Milford Public Library', 'link': 'http://milford.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Monroe County Library System', 'link': 'http://monroe.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Mountain Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://mountain-regional.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Munising Sch Public Library', 'link': 'http://munising.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'New Buffalo Township Pub Library', 'link': 'http://newbuffalo.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Northern Michigan University Library', 'link': 'http://nmu.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Northwestern Michigan College Library', 'link': 'http://nmc.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Novi Public Library', 'link': 'http://novi.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Oakland Community College', 'link': 'http://oaklandcc.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Oak Park Public Library', 'link': 'http://oakpark.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Ogemaw District Library', 'link': 'http://ogemaw.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Okanagan Regional Library', 'link': 'http://link.orl.bc.ca/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Otsego County Library', 'link': 'http://otsegocounty.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Peter White Public Library', 'link': 'http://peterwhite.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Piedmont Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://piedmont.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Plymouth District Library', 'link': 'http://plymouth.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Public Libraries--Saginaw', 'link': 'http://saginaw.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Ransom Library Plainwell', 'link': 'http://ransom.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Redford Twp District Library', 'link': 'http://redford.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Richland Community Library', 'link': 'http://richlandcommunity.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'River Rouge Public Library', 'link': 'http://riverrouge.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Roseville Public Library', 'link': 'http://roseville.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Royal Oak Public Library', 'link': 'http://royaloak.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'SAILS Library Network', 'link': 'http://link.sailsinc.org/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Sara Hightower Regional Library', 'link': 'http://sara-hightower.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Saratoga Springs Public Library', 'link': 'http://link.sspl.org/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Shelby Area District Library', 'link': 'http://shelbyarea.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Southfield Public Library', 'link': 'http://southfield.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'South Georgia Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://south-georgia.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'South Haven Memorial Library', 'link': 'http://southhaven.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Spring Lake District Library', 'link': 'http://springlake.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'St. Clair Shores Public Library', 'link': 'http://stclairshores.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'St. Joseph/MP Palenske Library', 'link': 'http://stjoseph.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Taylor Community Library', 'link': 'http://taylor.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Thames-Coromandel District Libraries', 'link': 'http://link.thamescoromandel.kotui.org.nz/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Three Rivers Public Library', 'link': 'http://threerivers.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Three Rivers Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://three-rivers.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Traverse Area District Library', 'link': 'http://traverse.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Trenton Veterans Memorial Library', 'link': 'http://trenton.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'University of Michigan Dearborn', 'link': 'http://umichdearborn.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Wake County Public Libraries', 'link': 'http://link.wakegov.com/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Waterford Twp Public Library', 'link': 'http://waterford.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Wayne Public Library', 'link': 'http://wayne.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'West Bloomfield Twp Public Library', 'link': 'http://westbloomfield.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Western Michigan University', 'link': 'http://wmich.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'West Georgia Regional Library', 'link': 'http://west-georgia.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'West Iron District Library', 'link': 'http://westiron.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Westland/WP Faust Library', 'link': 'http://westland.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'White Pigeon Township Library', 'link': 'http://whitepigeon.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
  • {'label': 'Ypsilanti District Library', 'link': 'http://ypsilanti.library.link/resource/6LuD1d9pRNg'}
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Andrea Levy
Small island, Andrea Levy
Label
Small island, Andrea Levy
Publication
Control code
5049912
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
441 p.
Isbn
9780755307517
Isbn Type
(trade pbk.)
Lccn
2005415917
http://library.link/vocab/shared_resources
  • {'label': 'Clayton County Library System', 'link': 'http://clayton.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Dougherty County Public Library', 'link': 'http://dougherty.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Flint River Regional Library', 'link': 'http://flint-river.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Greater Clarks Hill Regional Library', 'link': 'http://greater-clarks-hill.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Hall County Library System', 'link': 'http://hall.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Lake Blackshear Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://lake-blackshear.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Library of Congress', 'link': 'http://loc.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Marshes of Glynn Libraries', 'link': 'http://marshes-of-glynn.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Piedmont Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://piedmont.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Sara Hightower Regional Library', 'link': 'http://sara-hightower.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'South Georgia Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://south-georgia.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'Three Rivers Regional Library System', 'link': 'http://three-rivers.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
  • {'label': 'West Georgia Regional Library', 'link': 'http://west-georgia.library.link/resource/cqyFWS9jUXM'}
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocm53393222
  • (OCoLC)53393222

Library Locations

    • Braselton LibraryBorrow it
      15 Brassie Lane, Braselton, GA, 30517, US
      34.108685 -83.764931
Processing Feedback ...